Distance Education Committee

The Distance Education Committee can be reached by email by contacting Distance Education Co-Coordinators Brielle Plump (bplump@peralta.edu) and Jennifer Fowler (jfowler@peralta.edu).

The Distance Education Committee at College of Alameda is charged with reviewing and recommending policies, procedures, and practices to achieve academic excellence and success for online students.


The committee’s charge is to:

  • Improve student persistence, retention, success and support services for online students;
  • Coordinate ongoing professional development and mentoring support for effective online teaching and learning;
  • Recommend policies, procedures and practices for effective online teaching and learning.


In supporting the charge, the committee’s duties may include but are not limited to:

  • Evaluating student enrollment, student success and retention data to provide ongoing improvement in distance education.
  • Exploring and recommending distance education conferences, grants, trainings, multi-college collaborations and other opportunities.
  • Promoting and disseminating effective practices, trainings and workshops.
  • Recommending policies, procedures and practices that align with state and federal distance education guidelines.
  • Promoting equitable access in distance education.
  • Advocating for resources and academic support services that improve outcomes for online students.
  • Providing ongoing assessment of the learning management system.
  • Participating on the District Distance Education Committee and/or other related participatory governance constituencies.
  • Sharing distance education current events and issues with the college community.

Meetings: 3rd Wednesday of the month
Time: 12:30-1:30PM
Place: https://cccconfer.zoom.us/my/distance.education

2021-2022 Committee Members


Please contact Academic Senate President Matthew Goldstein at mgoldstein@peralta.edu if you are interested in joining this committee.