Skip to content [s] Skip to website navigation [n] Site map [3] Home [1]

Academic Senate

The College of Alameda Academic Senate represents all College of Alameda faculty (tenure, tenure-track and adjunct) on academic and professional matters. According to Title 5, Section 53200, Academic Senate means an organization whose primary function is to make recommendations with respect to academic and professional matters.  Academic and Professional matters mean the following policy development matters:

  1. Curriculum, including establishing prerequisites.
  2. Degree and certificate requirements.
  3. Grading policies.
  4. Educational program development.
  5. Standards or policies regarding student preparation and success.
  6. College governance structures, as related to faculty roles.
  7. Faculty roles and involvement in accreditation processes.
  8. Policies for faculty professional development activities.
  9. Processes for program review.
  10. Processes for institutional planning and budget development.
  11. Other academic and professional matters

 

The Academic Senate promotes faculty primacy in academic and professional matters as established in statute and regulation. The Senate is the official voice of the California community college faculty in statewide consultation and decision making and, through leadership and empowerment, endeavors to make each local senate the voice of the faculty in college and district consultation and decision making.

Committee Appointments:  All faculty appointments to any college body or district body dealing with academic and pr0fessinal matters as defined in Title 5 are to be made by the academic senate.  Appointments to non-senate committees are made by the academic senate after consultation between the local senate president and the college president.

Active subcommittees of the Academic Senate:

  •  Curriculum Committee
  •  Staff Development Committee
  •  Distance Education Committee
 Senators for Academic Year 2018-2019
Name Division Email Address
Rochelle Olive, President rolive@peralta.edu
Maurice Jones, Vice President majones@peralta.edu
Carla Pegues, Treasurer cpegues@peralta.edu
Carolyn Johnson, Secretary cjohnson@peralta.edu
Andrew Park, DAS Rep. bpark@peralta.edu
Maurice Jones Faculty At-Large majones@peralta.edu
Carolyn Johnson Faculty At-Large cjohnson@peralta.edu
Susanne Altenbauch Faculty At-Large Adjunct saltenbauch@peralta.edu
Phyllis Tappe Student Services ptappe@peralta.edu
Nila Adina Student Services nadina@peralta.edu
Gary Perkins Division 1- Adjunct gperkins@peralta.edu
Andrew Park Division 1 bpark@peralta.edu
Robert Pettyjohn Division 1 rpettyjohn@peralta.edu
Carla Pegues Division 1 cpegues@peralta.edu
Rochelle Olive Division 1 rolive@peralta.edu
Maria Guzman Division 2- Adjunct mguzman@peralta.edu
Jennifer Fowler Division 2 jfowler@peralta.edu
Matthew Goldstein Division 2 mgoldstein@peralta.edu
Jody Campbell Division 2 jcampbell@peralta.edu
Jeffrey Sanceri Division 2 jsanceri@peralta.edu
Vacant ASCOA (Student)

 

 **Please note, if you are requesting an item to be added to the Senate agenda, it must be received by Wednesday, one week prior to scheduled Senate meetings.

Meeting Date

 Agenda

Minutes

May 16, 2019 AS-Agenda 5-16-2019
May 2, 2019 Agenda
Apr. 18, 2019 Agenda
Mar. 28, 2019 Agenda
December 13, 2018 Agenda Minutes
November 15, 2018 Agenda Minutes
November 1, 2018 Agenda Minutes
October 18, 2018 Agenda Minutes
October 4, 2018 Agenda Minutes
September 20, 2018 Agenda Minutes
September 6, 2018 Agenda Minutes
May 23, 2018 Agenda Minutes
May 3, 2018 Agenda Minutes
April 19, 2018 Agenda Minutes
March 29, 2018 Agenda Minutes
March 15, 2018 Agenda Minutes
March 1, 2018 Agenda Minutes
February 15, 2018 Agenda Minutes
February 1, 2018 Agenda Minutes
December 7, 2017 Agenda Minutes
November 16, 2017 Agenda Minutes
October 19, 2017 Agenda Minutes
October 5, 2017 Agenda Minutes
September 21, 2017 Agenda Minutes
September 7, 2017 Agenda Minutes

ACADEMIC_SENATE_CONSTITUTION2010 (9)

ASCCC (Academic Senate California Community College)  https://asccc.org/

ASCCC–PDC (Professional Development Committee) https://asccc.org/pdc-online-courses

CURRENTLY AVAILABLE COURSES