Skip to content [s] Skip to website navigation [n] Site map [3] Home [1]

Academic Senate

Aerial Photograph of Alameda and Downtown Oakland

The College of Alameda Academic Senate represents all College of Alameda faculty (tenure, tenure-track and adjunct) on academic and professional matters. According to Title 5, Section 53200, Academic Senate means an organization whose primary function is to make recommendations with respect to academic and professional matters.  Academic and Professional matters mean the following policy development matters:

  1. Curriculum, including establishing prerequisites.
  2. Degree and certificate requirements.
  3. Grading policies.
  4. Educational program development.
  5. Standards or policies regarding student preparation and success.
  6. College governance structures, as related to faculty roles.
  7. Faculty roles and involvement in accreditation processes.
  8. Policies for faculty professional development activities.
  9. Processes for program review.
  10. Processes for institutional planning and budget development

     +1 Other academic and professional matters


The Academic Senate promotes faculty primacy in academic and professional matters as established in statute and regulation. The Senate is the official voice of the California community college faculty in statewide consultation and decision making and, through leadership and empowerment, endeavors to make each local senate the voice of the faculty in college and district consultation and decision making.

Committee Appointments:  All faculty appointments to any college body or district body dealing with academic and professional matters as defined in Title 5 are to be made by the Academic Senate.  Appointments to non-senate committees are made by the Academic Senate after consultation between the local senate president and the college president.

Active subcommittees of the Academic Senate:

  •  Curriculum Committee
  •  Staff Development Committee
  •  Distance Education Committee

COA Academic Senate

Meeting Dates:  1st and 3rd Thursday of each month

Meeting Time:  12 – 1:30 pm

Meeting Place:  L237 (Second Floor of the CoA Library)


Special Academic Senate Meetings– TBD

 Senators for Academic Year 2019-2020
Name Division Email Address
Matthew Goldstein, President Liberal Studies & Language Arts
Jennifer Fowler, Vice President Liberal Studies & Language Arts
Andrew Park, Treasurer STEAM
Vacant, Secretary
Jeffrey Sanceri, DAS Rep.  Faculty-at-Large
Jeffrey Sanceri Faculty-at-Large, Full Time
Jayne Smithson Faculty at-Large, Full Time
Sue Altenbach Faculty-at-Large, Adjunct
Hoi Koi Career Workforce Education, Full Time
Robert Pettyjohn Career Workforce Education, Full Time
Vacant Career Workforce Education, Adjunct
Matthew Goldstein Liberal Studies & Language Arts, Full Time
Jennifer Fowler Liberal Studies & Language Arts, Full Time
Kwesi Wilson Liberal Studies & Language Arts, Adjunct
Andrew Park STEAM, Full Time
Richard Kaeser STEAM, Full Time
Maria Guzman STEAM, Adjunct
Phyllis Tappe Student Services, Full Time
Marissa Nakano Student Services, Full Time
Vacant Student Services, Adjunct

 **Please note, if you are requesting an item to be added to the Senate agenda, it must be received by Wednesday, one week prior to scheduled Senate meetings.

Meeting Date



September 19, 2019 Agenda
September 12, 2019 Agenda Minutes
May 16, 2019 Agenda Minutes
May 2, 2019 Agenda Minutes
April 18, 2019 Agenda Minutes
March 28, 2019 Agenda Minutes
February 21, 2019 Agenda Minutes
February 7, 2019 Agenda Minutes
December 13, 2018 Agenda Minutes
December 06, 2018 Agenda Minutes
November 15, 2018 Agenda Minutes
November 1, 2018 Agenda Minutes
October 18, 2018 Agenda Minutes
October 4, 2018 Agenda Minutes
September 20, 2018 Agenda Minutes
September 6, 2018 Agenda Minutes
May 23, 2018 Agenda Minutes
May 3, 2018 Agenda Minutes
April 19, 2018 Agenda Minutes
March 29, 2018 Agenda Minutes
March 15, 2018 Agenda Minutes
March 1, 2018 Agenda Minutes
February 15, 2018 Agenda Minutes
February 1, 2018 Agenda Minutes
December 7, 2017 Agenda Minutes
November 16, 2017 Agenda Minutes
October 19, 2017 Agenda Minutes
October 5, 2017 Agenda Minutes
September 21, 2017 Agenda Minutes
September 7, 2017 Agenda Minutes