Skip to content [s] Skip to website navigation [n] Site map [3] Home [1]

Academic Senate

Aerial Photograph of Alameda and Downtown Oakland

The College of Alameda Academic Senate represents all College of Alameda faculty (tenure, tenure-track and adjunct) on academic and professional matters. According to Title 5, Section 53200, Academic Senate means an organization whose primary function is to make recommendations with respect to academic and professional matters.  Academic and Professional matters mean the following policy development matters:

  1. Curriculum, including establishing prerequisites.
  2. Degree and certificate requirements.
  3. Grading policies.
  4. Educational program development.
  5. Standards or policies regarding student preparation and success.
  6. College governance structures, as related to faculty roles.
  7. Faculty roles and involvement in accreditation processes.
  8. Policies for faculty professional development activities.
  9. Processes for program review.
  10. Processes for institutional planning and budget development

     +1 Other academic and professional matters

 

The Academic Senate promotes faculty primacy in academic and professional matters as established in statute and regulation. The Senate is the official voice of the California community college faculty in statewide consultation and decision making and, through leadership and empowerment, endeavors to make each local senate the voice of the faculty in college and district consultation and decision making.

Committee Appointments:  All faculty appointments to any college body or district body dealing with academic and professional matters as defined in Title 5 are to be made by the Academic Senate.  Appointments to non-senate committees are made by the Academic Senate after consultation between the local senate president and the college president.

Active subcommittees of the Academic Senate:

COA Academic Senate

Meeting Dates:  1st and 3rd Thursday of each month

Meeting Time:  12:20 – 1:20 pm 

Meeting Place:  A 228 (Island Innovation Incubator); via Zoom during Covid-19 campus shutdown

 

Special Academic Senate Meetings– TBD

 Senators for Academic Year 2020-21
Name Division Email Address
Matthew Goldstein, President Liberal Studies & Language Arts mgoldstein@peralta.edu
Jennifer Fowler, Vice President Liberal Studies & Language Arts jfowler@peralta.edu
Andrew Park, Treasurer Faculty At-large bpark@peralta.edu
Marissa Nakano, Secretary Student Services mnakano@peralta.edu
Jeffrey Sanceri, DAS Rep.  Faculty At-Large jsanceri@peralta.edu
Jeffrey Sanceri Faculty At-large, Fulltime jsanceri@peralta.edu
Andrew Park Faculty At-large, Fulltime bpark@peralta.edu
Sue Altenbach Faculty At-large, Adjunct saltenbach@peralta.edu
Hoi Ko Career Workforce Education, Fulltime hko@peralta.edu
Bruce Pettyjohn Career Workforce Education, Fulltime rpettyjohn@peralta.edu
Vacant Career Workforce Education, Adjunct
Matthew Goldstein LSLA, Fulltime mgoldstein@peralta.edu
Jennifer Fowler LSLA, Fulltime jfowler@peralta.edu
Kwesi Wilson LSLA, Adjunct kwilson@peralta.edu
Reza Majlesi STEAM, Fulltime rmajlesi@peralta.edu
Richard Kaeser STEAM, Fulltime rkaeser@peralta.edu
Maria Guzman STEAM, Adjunct mguzman@peralta.edu
Jacinda Marshall Student Services, Fulltime jmarshall@peralta.edu
Marissa Nakano Student Services, Fulltime mnakano@peralta.edu
Vacant Student Services, Adjunct

 **Please note, if you are requesting an item to be added to the Senate agenda, it must be received by Wednesday, one week prior to scheduled Senate meetings.

Meeting Date

 Agenda

Minutes

May 6, 2020 Agenda pending approval at Sept 3, 2020 Meeting
April 16, 2020 Agenda April 16 2020 AS Minutes
April 2, 2020 Agenda April 2 2020 AS Minutes
March 26, 2020 Agenda March 26 2020 AS Minutes
March 5, 2020 March 5 2020 AS Minutes
February 20, 2020 Agenda Feb 20, 2020 AS Minutes
February 6, 2020 Agenda Feb 6 2020 AS minutes
December 5, 2019 Agenda AS Minutes 12.5.2019
November 21, 2019 Agenda Minutes 11.21.19
October 17, 2019 Agenda Minutes 10.17.2019
October 3, 2019 Agenda Minutes 10.3.2019
September 19, 2019 Agenda Minutes
September 12, 2019 Agenda Minutes
May 16, 2019 Agenda Minutes
May 2, 2019 Agenda Minutes
April 18, 2019 Agenda Minutes
March 28, 2019 Agenda Minutes
February 21, 2019 Agenda Minutes
February 7, 2019 Agenda Minutes
December 13, 2018 Agenda Minutes
December 06, 2018 Agenda Minutes
November 15, 2018 Agenda Minutes
November 1, 2018 Agenda Minutes
October 18, 2018 Agenda Minutes
October 4, 2018 Agenda Minutes
September 20, 2018 Agenda Minutes
September 6, 2018 Agenda Minutes
May 23, 2018 Agenda Minutes
May 3, 2018 Agenda Minutes
April 19, 2018 Agenda Minutes
March 29, 2018 Agenda Minutes
March 15, 2018 Agenda Minutes
March 1, 2018 Agenda Minutes
February 15, 2018 Agenda Minutes
February 1, 2018 Agenda Minutes
December 7, 2017 Agenda Minutes
November 16, 2017 Agenda Minutes
October 19, 2017 Agenda Minutes
October 5, 2017 Agenda Minutes
September 21, 2017 Agenda Minutes
September 7, 2017 Agenda Minutes