Departments & Programs

Contact Us:

 

Don Miller, Ph.D.
VP of Instruction
(510) 748-2301
ddmiller@peralta.edu

Lynn Torres
Curriculum Specialist, Office of Instruction
(510) 748-5260
ltorres@peralta.edu

Kevin Q. Tran
Staff Assistant, Office of Instruction
(510) 748-2352
kqtran@peralta.edu

Min Y. Wu
Academic Support Services Specialist, Office of Instruction
(510) 748-2350
mwu@peralta.edu

Lilia Celhay
Dean of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences                                  
(510) 748-2234
lcelhay@peralta.edu

Ana McClanahan
Dean of STEAM
(510) 466-5380
amcclanahan@peralta.edu

Eva Jennings
Dean of CTE
(510) 748-2318
ejennings@peralta.edu

Brenda Lewis
Staff Assistant, Liberal Studies & Language Arts Division
(510) 748-2373
bjlewis@peralta.edu

Chevonn Herbert
Staff Assistant, STEAM Division
(510) 748-2357
cherbert@peralta.edu

Donna Jones
Staff Assistant, CTE
(510) 748-2316
dajones@peralta.edu

View of Campus Quad from the top of FBuilding

 

College of Alameda is a small, friendly community college noted for the excellence of its academic, vocational, and student support programs. The college is situated on a beautiful park-like campus on the island city of Alameda, offering the quiet of a suburban setting in a bustling urban environment. The college is located just minutes from downtown Oakland and San Francisco, California.

College of Alameda’s academic programs enable our students to transfer to four-year colleges and universities, earn degrees and certificates in academic and occupational fields, prepare for positions in the workforce, improve their basic learning skills and expand their general knowledge.

Transfer Programs
You can fulfill all lower-division university general education requirements at College of Alameda, then transfer to a California State University (CSU) or University of California (UC) campus or a four-year private university.

The Transfer Center will facilitate your personal contact with representatives from local four-year colleges and universities, and counselors will help you decide on the combination of courses most suited to your transfer plans and goals.

Career Technical Education Programs
College of Alameda’s award-winning vocational programs leading to an Associate in Arts or Science degree or a Certificate of Achievement include:

English as a Second Language
College of Alameda’s ESL program features small classes, experienced and caring instructors, free weekly practice workshops and a lab for ESL practice.

Basic Skills
College of Alameda works with students to develop their basic English and mathematics skills through grant-supported innovative programs and a lab for basic skills practice and tutoring.